Cheque book Ron v Little Jimmy

by

Hove Born & Bred, a poster on NSC, who also writes the Put Those Floodlights Out! blog on the Argus website, found this little gem on YouTube and I thought I’d put it up here for those readers (2 out of my total of 4) who don’t frequent the mad, mad, world that is Brighton & Hove Albion’s main fan forum.

What’s interesting about this video is the difference in style, Big Flash Ron – a walking, talking football stereotype much ridiculed since by many good Brit comedians down the years – Mediterranean tan, Pringle golf jumper,  flair hair, dodgy Irish joke. Then there’s Jimmy Melia, the softly spoken little scouser, in his trackie and pale bald head. As HB&B mentions on NSC, David Colemanballs can’t even bring himself to say the words “Brighton” “Brighton & Hove Albion” or any combination of the above.

This all happened long before I was a fan of the Albion, but it’s an interesting window on a time when this little club almost toppled the biggest name in world football. It really is a little gem, real life David and Goliath stuff.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Cheque book Ron v Little Jimmy”

  1. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

