Albion 2 – 3 Southend

by

The Shrimpers at home today. I’m on a job tonight, so I’ll get the first 40 minutes of this game on Seagulls Player, then I’m out working and I’ll be lucky to get the scores coming through when the BBC World Service picks up the football second halves from Radio 5 Live.

I’m predicting 1-1 from this one, just because we’re even stevens with Saarfend in the league, and it’s not often the Seagulls win three on the bounce!

Seven minutes, goal for Southend, defence nowhere to be seen, headed in. Oh dear. Wait out – N-I-C-K-Y…..F-O-R-S-T-E-RRRRRR, six goals in five games. Route one ball, Fozzy gets on the end of it, slots it. 1 -1. Fuck it, on 26 minutes Saaaaaafend get a corner, long one, and a tap in at the far post. It’s one of those games. I’ve got to knock off now and go to work – I’ll take 2-2 at the end of this one. Laters.

So, I wait for a mention of the Albion all the second half, whilst listening to Arsenal stuffing Wigan, and we finally get a mention on 90 minutes + 2, a late, late goal from the Shrimpers nicks all three points. Bastards. We’re back hovering near the relegation places. Fozzy banged in our second goal, so I guess he’ll have to get my Man of the (half) Match again.

The Hovian’s Albion Man of the Match: Nicky Forster

Albion Team (goalscorers in bold):

(4-4-2) Kuipers; Virgo, Elphick, Tunnicliffe, El-Abd; Bennett, Crofts, Dicker, A Davies; Dickinson, Forster (2)

Subs: Pelling, Cox, McLeod, C Davies, Hart, Wright, Navarro, Thornhill

League One table

Saturday, 19 September 2009 17:07 UK

Position Team P GD PTS
Full League One table
1 Leeds United 8 12 22
2 Charlton 8 12 20
3 Bristol Rovers 8 7 18
4 MK Dons 8 4 17
5 Colchester 8 8 14
6 Huddersfield 8 7 14
7 Swindon 8 -2 13
8 Southend 8 3 11
9 Gillingham 8 3 10
10 Millwall 8 0 10
11 Brentford 8 -1 10
12 Walsall 8 -1 10
13 Stockport 8 -2 9
14 Norwich 8 -3 9
15 Exeter 8 -3 9
16 Oldham 8 -3 9
17 Carlisle 8 -3 8
18 Hartlepool 8 -3 8
19 Brighton 8 -7 8
20 Yeovil 8 -3 6
21 Leyton Orient 8 -5 6
22 Wycombe 8 -6 5
23 Tranmere 8 -13 3
24 Southampton 8 -1 -2
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Albion 2 – 3 Southend”

  1. glasfryn Says:

    Oh yes I would have taken 2-2 as well I have watched their third goal a good few times and sorry to say RS is absolutely correct Elphick gave them a birthday present and from his (RS) mood he will be having a shake up in defence (if he has the players to do that) all 3 goals by them could have been avoided.
    I have this theory that before long all of Wilko’s babes will be gone RS does like Cox but has even been prepared to drop him and I fully expect the same fate for Elphick and I’m also afraid to say that none of the Brighton boys are teflon like they have been in the past.
    not so much a dreadful result as a depressing one, we should have won this one at a canter.

    G

  2. The Hovian Says:

    Gutted. I’m glad I didn’t have Player on for this one in the second half. As much as I like Tommy Elphick, he should be dropped if he’s playing badly, and you’re right that no player should be like teflon to the point that he’s guaranteed a place.

    Tunnicliffe will provide him with plenty of competition and at least Slade will drop crowd favourites if they’re in shit form.

    Not the end of the world, but we should be beating the likes of Southend at home, no question. Tough one at Bristol next week, then MK Dons. After those two games I think we’ll be looking at our lot for the rest of the season, I’ll put a poll up after that to see what people think about where we’ll finish (I got six replies last time – haha)

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

