Fugue for a Monday morning

by

Manc(ish) miserablists Doves are a band that have slowly grown on me over the past ten years to the point of perma-playing on my iPod of late. It took so long because I clapped eyes on their unfortunate visogs long before I heard much of their stuff, and the first tune of theirs I listened to on the wireless (can’t for the life of me remember the exact tune) wasn’t much cop.

But, I eventually stumbled across their 2003 compilation album ‘Lost Sides’ and found this track ‘Darker’, and I was hooked. Hauntingly beautiful with a bitter edge, shoe-gazing through northern wet weekends never sounded so cool, a masterpiece.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Fugue for a Monday morning”

  1. Jimmy Jazz Says:

    Doves are a massively underrated band. Kingdom of Rust was one of favourite albums from last year.

Leave a Reply

